Thinking of skiing and something new (or not!)

I am soon off to Chamonix. So I am thinking of skiing and a new challenge for this season. Looking for inspiration, I was trawling the web and discovered a couple of amusing old video clips.

The first features the skiing of Jeannot Tournier, from the 1960s. At that time he was Manager and owner of the Park Hotel in Chamonix. This hotel is still owned by the Tournier family and now features a spa and roof top jacuzzi. Jeannot was later discovered by Walt Disney and subsequently spent several years in America. Those who know the Chamonix ski areas will recognise many of the locations in this film.

http://www.ina.fr/video/CPF04007122

I don’t think I will be trying the stilts!

Another clip I found demonstrates that ski bobs are a lot older than I thought

http://www.ina.fr/video/AFE85002361

This entry was posted in Skiing and ski lifts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

