Phone line disruption, photos and crows at play

After nearly 2 weeks of intermittent service from our phone and Broadband provider, our phone line is finally fixed. I hope! During “the troubles” our internet connection would suddenly drop out, or a phone conversation would become impossible because of crackling noises on the phone. I cannot begin to explain how frustrating this was. I had several calls where communication was impossible and I was trying to tell the other person I would use my mobile but, of course, they could not understand me! And the Broadband always seemed to drop out just after I had finished typing a long and carefully reasoned email. The connection went, and my typing was lost.

The engineer that finally came could not have been more helpful and pleasant, which made it well-nigh impossible for me to be Mr Angry when trying to demand compensation for the lack of service between reporting the fault and its repair. The engineer went through the usual expert repartee looking at the problem, standing back, sucking in air steadily while shaking the head and commenting critically on the work done by all the previous engineers who had worked on our line. But then he stripped away several redundant largish connection boxes, rewired a short section and proceeded to confirm the line integrity by extensive testing.

Now all is mended, I know I have no excuses and I need to start blogging again. I have been saving a couple of photos for future blogs, but since they have not fitted with any specific narrative they have metaphorically been gathering dust. This seems a good opportunity to dust them off.

The first I took in France in the summer. I was on my way into a small supermarket; outside there was a display of fruit and vegetables that some pigeons had mistaken for a bird table!

Cheeky pigeons taking advantage of a pick and mix

Cheeky pigeons taking advantage of a “pick and mix”

The next one is an Estate Agents photo. Why anybody would think that this would help to sell a house is totally beyond me. This is as it appeared. I have not edited it in any way.

Estate agents photo

Mmm! nice stones!

Finally, I have never seen anything like these crows playing in the snow http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=fwjTO0oF800

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Phone line disruption, photos and crows at play

  1. Declan says:

    You really make it seem really easy along with your presentation however I in
    finding this topic to be actually something that I feel I’d never understand. It sort of feels too complex and very large for me. I am having a look forward in your subsequent post, I will try to get the dangle of it!

Leave a Reply

