Domaine de Balme, The Hobbit and Argentiere

Friday was a fabulously sunny day and, with a less than promising weather forecast for the weekend, I was anxious to get out on skis. I took the train and a bus and went to Le Tour to the Domaine de Balme. It was cold but very quiet with excellent snow. I found some unskied, off piste powder in the trees in the Les Jeurs area. You can see how quiet it was from this photo

Salonges piste

My legs decided I had had enough after about two and a bit hours and I ended up skiing down to Vallorcine and caught the bus/train back to Chamonix.

As predicted in the weather forecast, Saturday was gloomy. I had a quick ski at Les Houches then returned home and we went shopping for some essentials.

Sunday was forecast to be also gloomy and I decided to give skiing a rest. As it happened, the weather turned out bright and relatively warm. We decided to take the train to Chamonix for lunch then watch The Hobbit in the local cinema. The Plat and Salad du jour at La Flambee was excellent and not too expensive; for Chamonix that is. I thought The Hobbit was not quite as good as Lord of the Rings and the end was a big surprise. I had not realised it was also going to be a three parter!

Today I went to Argentiere. I did not have high hopes of the weather and it was pretty drear (as the photo below bears witness). I went straight to the top when I got there and found a blizzard. My ski down, mostly on the Point De Vue piste, or near by, was challenging with the poor visibility and the many moguls, but I quite enjoyed it. I then had a few runs off the Marmottes chair and finally rode down on the Plan Joran chair.

Poor visibility on the Point de Vue piste, the mountainside the other side of the Argentiere glacier is just about visible

Poor visibility on the Point de Vue piste, the mountainside the other side of the Argentiere glacier is just about visible

I now have only 5 more ski lifts to visit to complete my original list. However, I keep adding to the list by trying to be honest about all the means of transport that could be considered “lifts” such as railways. With my extended list I have 10 more to visit to complete my task.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

