Hotel baths and motorway driving

Over the last couple of days we have been driving to France for some sun and skiing in the Chamonix valley. On our way, we stayed overnight in a Premier Inn on the Dover Marine Parade. It is an extremely well-situated hotel right on the sea front and only a few hundred metres from the ferry terminal. It was also excellent value at £29 per night for a twin room. But the issue that really caused me to mention it was, it had a bath. Normally I use showers to keep clean so baths are quite exceptional for me. So much so that I have no set routine and wonder what sequence to do what in. With big baths – and the one in Premier Inn was big – I like to fill it up enough to float and do lengths. In terms of energy-saving, I think, Premier Inn have missed a trick with their bathroom design because I found it perfectly easy to float in the bath and still turn the hot water on and off with my foot in order to extend my period of immersion in hot water by “topping up”.

The round item in the top-middle of the picture turns the water on. It is set on Hot!

The round item in the top-middle of the picture turns the water on. It is set on Hot!

Without that I would, no doubt, have felt chilled somewhat earlier and got out without using so much water.

Once in France, we were driving on motorways for about 9 hours. As I took my turn at driving I was reflecting on how boring driving had become with modern cars; there is so little for the driver to do. The car was on cruise control so no need to deal with the accelerator. It was raining now and again but the windscreen wipers were on automatic; just turning themselves on when needed. The Sat Nav was on; no need for direction finding. The aircon was on, as were the automatic and thermostatically controlled seat warmers. When night fell, the rear view mirror would automatically “dip” if a careless driver behind approached with headlights full on. My wife was playing and changing CDs, but not all cars will have that! So I had virtually nothing to do but steer now and again and watch the Satnav screen to see rivers, train lines and other features obscured from view on the road. I also had to check that the car did not run out of fuel. I am not sure if I preferred the old days when constant attention was needed to the accelerator position and speed limit observation, heat levels with winding windows, turning wipers on and off; busy busy. But I think driving was probably less boring; roads were also less busy and that is another thing…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hotel baths and motorway driving

  1. richard buckingham says:

    If you are bored with your lovely Volvo, then please feel free to drive our suzuki ignis! It comes with very few gadgets, but occasionally has a ‘wife-who-changes-the-CD/radio’ operative on board. Even then, the CD has a life of it’s own and changes tracks, and also seems to have a Radio 4 default setting which is engaged as and when it feels like it. It even has a roof aerial that has to be manually extended, remember those?
    To avoid any kind of boredom I also drive the ‘other car’. Then the fun starts; the operating systems are on opposite stalks, so depending which car is being used, the indicators double as windscreen wipers or vice versa. Quite unnerving for other drivers if I sweep into a side road with the windscreen wipers going on a sunny day, accompanied by the dry screeching of wiper blades on glass!
    Premier Inn baths – perhaps that’s the result of using a Lenny Henry size person as a role model.

    • seclectic says:

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I do not think I am quite ready to do a car swap but thanks for the thought. Now here in France I am doing my bit to keep the medical services employed and have a modest number of prescription items some of which can be administered up the bottom! if you so choose.

Leave a Reply

