Day 1 Never Tango with an Eskimo

I have been rather neglectful of my blog recently. But, looking at WordPress today, I find I have had a total of just short of 2000 hits from over 72 countries. I realise that this is really small beer in comparison with many blogs but I feel a small glimmer of pride; sufficient for me to set myself a challenge of a blog a day for the next 19 days. This is to be coupled with the virtuous aims of some physical exercise every other day for at least 20 minutes, and, in a bid to increase my “happiness” level, doing one thing each day that makes me happy. Today, the happiness thing was mundane, and maybe rather boring-sounding to many, but I finished painting an upstairs room and now I can go in there and look on it with pleasure. Yesterday, of course, I was delighted that England beat the All Blacks.

While walking through a shopping centre, three days ago, the piped Christmas music suddenly played “You must never do a tango with an Eskimo”. This ear worm has been with me ever since. I have even been caught whistling it in a tuneless fashion (according to my audience). Immediately I heard it I recognised the tune but, despite racking my brain, I could not think of a reason why the listener was being warned about this rather unlikely situation. To save the apprehension of the reader, I will immediately inform you that the reason is you will get a chill if you do.

The tune was recorded by Alma Cogan in 1955. If anyone wants to hear it  there is a youtube clip using the record as a soundtrack  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oSSxrb6Bvhk

If you want to check up that I have not misled you with the reason for not dancing tangos with Inuits, here are some of the lyrics:

You must never do a tango with an Eskimo
No, no, no, oh dear no
When a lady from Nebraska’s at a party in Alaska
She must never do a tango with an Eskimo

You can do it with a Latin, from Manilla to Manhattan
You can do it with a gaucho in Brazil
But if once those Eskimoses start to wiggle with their toeses
You can bet your life you’re gonna get a chill

Brrrrrrrr

You can never do a tango with an Eskimo
No, no, no, oh dear no
If you do, you’ll get the breeze up
And you’ll end up with a freeze up
You must never do a tango with an Eskimo
No, no, no, no, no, no, no

Alma Cogan was born Alma Cohen and died tragically young at 34. She still seems to have plenty of fans around and it is quite easy to find information about her on the web.

Onto Day 2!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

