Sporting ailments

I have been swimming quite frequently recently and have managed to get an ailment that, despite its cause, is called athletes foot. What with the Olympics and this ailment I started to wonder why some sports get labelled with particular ailments and not others. A few years ago I had a pain in my elbow and I thought “Aha,” tennis elbow. But when I saw a physio she said “No, that is golfers elbow”. Now, I do not play golf; in fact I get pretty close to despising it. So how come I have caught it? When I used to jog and took part in half marathons, never a full one (!), I seem to recall I heard about “runners nipple”. Just to check this out I Googled it and confirmed this is an appropriate term. Just in case someone finds this blog and is looking for a solution to this problem I can point them to a possible solution at http://www.nipguards.com which has this amazing testimony

Dear Nipguards: As both an avid runner and a member of the Pierced Nation, I must admit I had my doubts about your product. Normally I take my 4-inch hoop off my left nipple before running, but with the Nipguard in place I can get my exercise and show off my jewelry at the same time! And my bleeding has subsided to pre-pierced levels. Thanks, Nipguards! Sincerely, Norman Gardino Louisvile, Ky.

I guess if they work in this case…

There are obviously many sports that have been overlooked in having associated ailments and I offer a few possible novel ones below. But I would welcome more…

Footballer’s lip – a swelling caused by too much swearing and racial abuse. There could be a related ailment: Goalkeeper’s jaw. This is caused by excessive shouting at team mates and there was an apparently genuine incident when Alex Stepney, Manchester United goalkeeper, in a match against Birmingham in 1975 shouted so aggressively he dislocated his jaw.

Weightlifter’s hernia – too obvious

Tennis player’s throat – soreness caused by explosive grunting, closely related to tennis player’s ear afflicting the opposition

Less familiar to those in the UK would be baseball tummy – resulting from too casual ironing and another apparently genuine incident involving John Smoltz who wanting a really crisp shirt decided to iron it while he was wearing it, leading to scalding.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sporting ailments

  1. Sophie says:

    Haha I have to say this is a great blog !!

Leave a Reply

