Starting here

Today there was snow in the Chamonix valley; not a lot, but some. It cleared in the afternoon and the sun appeared briefly. I had a day of resting, catching up with emails, and shopping. Yesterday was sunny all day, but it stayed cool on the slopes so the skiing was excellent. I was at Le Tour and found plenty of lovely powder, off-piste on the Vallorcine side just over the border into Switzerland. The black unpisted area through the trees was mogulled (or should it be moguled?) but there was no ice, so the moguls were big but manageable. It was fairly crowded and why one of the Poma lifts was not working I just do not understand, particularly when they charge 51.50 Euros for a one day unlimited ski pass in the Chamonix valley.

The day before I was at Les Houches. It also had good snow on all the pistes except near the village, where the coverage was incomplete and the snow cannons had not really created sufficient snow. The view towards Geneva, from the Plancerts piste with the Aravis in the background, was exceptional but my picture does not really do it justice

More snow is forecast for tomorrow; as much as 50cm predicted at 1500 metres which sounds brilliant.

Incidentally, since this is the first post perhaps I should account for the name. I had in mind a combination of selective and eclectic hence seclectic, unfortunately somehow I missed out a c on one of the WordPress screens so I have secletic appearing sometimes. If anyone reads this and knows how to correct it please let me know. I have tried once but it tells me that “seclectic” is already in use. But I think I know that!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

